top of page

Set the session inactivity timeout


 Tip of the Day: In Microsoft D365 Finance and Supply Chain (D365 F&SC), does your D365 session automatically log you out to frequently (or not frequently enough)? This can be frustrating or inconvenient. You can change the duration of the auto-logout feature by following a simple step. Click the link below to learn how to customize your auto-logout settings and optimize your system performance.

 

To advance your consulting skills, let me share my Microsoft Dynamics D365 F&SC expertise with you by signing for my post notifications at www.intraclouddynamics.com or www.aliciakeener.com or subscribe to my YouTube Channel @aliciakeener6544

 

 

 

  

The session inactivity timeout setting represents the amount of time a user can be inactive before the user's session times out and closes. It only affects user browser sessions.


You can set the values from 5 minutes to 60 minutes.


This function has a default value of 30 minutes. You can set the value up to 60 minutes, however doing so might cause extra load on the system.


To change the value, follow these steps, go to System administration > Setup > System parameters > on the General tab >enter a value in the Session inactivity timeout in minutes field.


If you set the value to greater than 30, you will be prompted to confirm your selection. The confirmation prompt says "Increasing the inactivity session timeout can cause extra load on your system, which can lead to a decrease in performance. Are you sure you want to continue?" The higher the value, the higher the load will be, which can affect negatively system performance. Select Yes to save the changes, or No to revert to the existing value.





Alerting users before sessions end due to inactivity

To give users awareness of an impending session suspension due to inactivity and to help prevent users from losing any unsaved changes when this occurs, users will be notified before their sessions are set to be terminated due to inactivity and given an opportunity to reconnect. The notice given to the user is dependent on the Session inactivity timeout setting.

·       If the Session inactivity timeout is more than 30 minutes, the user will see a countdown notification starting 5 minutes before the session is set to close.

·       If the Session inactivity timeout is between 10 and 30 minutes, the user will see a countdown notification starting 2 minutes before the session is set to close.

·       If the Session inactivity timeout is less than 10 minutes, the user will see a countdown notification starting 30 seconds before the session is set to close.

 

 Note: This feature is available as of Platform update 29. If you previously set a session inactivity timeout in the web.config (WebClientStatefulSessionTimeoutInSeconds key) through a support request, then that old value will still be honored. The change in default will only affect those who had not explicitly set a new session inactivity timeout in the web config.

 

Yorumlar

5 üzerinden 0 yıldız
Henüz hiç puanlama yok

Puanlama ekleyin
bottom of page